NEVADA STUDENT ALLIANCE (NSA)

Minutes
June 11, 2015
7:15 a.m. to 8:15 a.m.
Truckee Meadows Community College
7000 Dandini Boulevard
Reno, NV 89512
Red Mountain Building, Room 122

NSHE Director of Student Affairs Renee Davis called the meeting to order at 7:19 a.m.

1. ROLL CALL

Members present: Ms. Yesenia Cuevas, Nevada State College, NSSA

Ms. Davis spoke briefly to the group about the NSA offices and the responsibilities they entail.

NSSA President Yesenia Cuevas arrived and introduced herself to the group, explaining that David Cortez-Lopez stepped down from his presidential role at Nevada State College.

Ms. Davis opened up the floor for nominations or volunteers for NSA Chair. TMCC SGA President Spencer Schultz explained he was not able to run since TMCC held the NSA Chair office in 2014-15 (Stephanie Prevost). Ms. Davis elaborated on the requirement in the NSA Constitution that no institution could hold the same office two years in a row. Also the chair and vice chair cannot come from the same institution. ASUN President Caden Fabbi nominated himself for Chair.

CSUN Vice President Taylor Cunningham arrived and introduced herself. Ms. Davis explained to the group that Taylor was representing CSUN President Kanani Espinoza. Ms. Davis brought Taylor up to speed with the election discussion to that point and then asked for additional nominations for chair. There were none, so she proceeded to call for a vote. President Fabbi was elected unanimously to be NSA Chair.

Ms. Davis proceeded with nominations or volunteers for Vice Chair. President Cuevas nominated herself and so did ASWNC President Andrea Senda. Ms. Davis gave the candidates an opportunity to make a personal statement since the office was contested. President Schultz and Chair Fabbi both indicated they would like to hear a small introduction from the candidates. President Senda introduced herself first as the student body president of Western Nevada College and gave a short personal statement. President Cuevas also provided a short personal statement. A roll call vote was taken: Five votes for President Senda and four votes for President Cuevas. Ms. Davis congratulated NSA Vice Chair Andrea Senda and thanked President Cuevas for her interest.

Ms. Davis proceeded to secretary nominations. UNR GSA President Kylie Rowe nominated herself for the office of NSA Secretary. There were no other nominations, and President Rowe was elected unanimously to be NSA Secretary.

Ms. Davis thanked those who ran for office and then handed the running of the meeting over to Chair Fabbi.

5. OPEN MEETING LAW

6. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

FOR POSSIBLE ACTION

Chair Fabbi asked the body for a motion to approve the minutes for April 13, 2015. President Megan Johnson made the motion; it was seconded by President Schultz, and passed with 6 votes (2 abstentions).

7. NSA CHAIR'S REPORT

INFORMATION

Chair Fabbi asked for recommendations from members for his report to be delivered later that morning to the Board. No immediate suggestions were offered, so he proceeded to talk about the research he had done about state-wide student government organizations in other states. He explained that he would like to see NSA come together like these other organizations around statewide initiatives. Suggestions President Fabbi mentioned were statewide voter registration drives or a Nevada Service Day. He would like to see NSA this year to set a standard for what the organization should be in the future, including developing a strategic vision for NSA for the next few years. His goal is for NSA to accomplish some great things for the students in the state.

8. NEW BUSINESS

INFORMATION

Chair Fabbi said **tse resa(tks) pi** v**72**(d)**2**(s2(tsi)2(bl)2(e)6(s)1(ta)6(te)6(w)4(id)2(e)5(N)4(S)-2(A)6(in)2(itia)6(tiv